The town of Dholpur is the district headquarters. Dholpur District has an area of 3084 km². Dholpur is a city in eastern-most parts of the Rajasthan state of India. Dhaulpur became a separate district in 1982 and has five tehsils namely – Dholpur, Badi, Rajakhera, Basedi, and Saipau. Dholpur is also known as Dhaulpur. The economy of the district is mainly based on agriculture. The major crops produced in Dholpur are pearl millet, paddy, sugarcane, wheat, barley, pulses, red chillies and guarseed. Dholpur is also known worldwide for the Dholpur stone. It is bordered by Bharatpur district of Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh to the north, Madhya Pradesh to the south, Karauli district to the west and Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh to the east.

A glance at Dholpur District


The geographical coordinates for Dholpur (Dhaulpur) are 26° 42′ 0″ North, 77° 54′ 0″ East.
The Chambal River forms the southern boundary of the district, across which lies the state of Madhya Pradesh. All along the bank of the Chambal River the district
is deeply intersected by ravines; low ranges of hills in the western portion of the district supply quarries of fine-grained and easily worked red sandstone.

Range of sand stone hills runs from Dholpur town in a south western direction attaining at one place on attitude of 356.91 Meters above sea level. The land in Dholpur district is fertile and rises from alluvial plain near the level. Hills and broken grounds characterize almost the whole territory, along the valley of the Chambal as irregular and lofty wall of rocks separate the land on the river from the uplands.


Dholpur has low to high hills of sand stone. These hills attain an altitude upto 356.91 meters above sea level in south wester direction. The soil is fertile with hills and broken grounds dotting the whole of its territory. The Chambal Valley has crooked and high rocks that seperate the highlands from the land along the river. In the eastern parts, it has deep ravines while the western sides are characterized by the flat hills covering around 378.33 sq km area. Gurjar Pahar is the highest peak with the hight of 357 m from the sea level. It lies towards south west direction of district. In the eastern direction there is evaluation of 163 and 171 m while altitude in central parts is 232 and 171 m.

Historic tale of the city

The Dholpur history down the ages has covered a significant era in the history of rajasthan. This period extends from 563 B.C to this date. Dholpur was a part of the Matsya Janpad of Buddha’s time.

It attracted lot of kings and rulers of Delhi and Agra. The rulers of Dholpur tried to resist all the invasions. This city suffered a lot of plunder and tremendous devastation. In 1501 AD, Sikandar Lodi attacked Dholpur and occupied it. Sikander Lodi’s forces plundered the city and spoilt the façade of the city. The gardens were uprooted and the beauty of the city was lost. In 1526 AD Babar attacked it. When Humayun ruled, Dholpur town was shifted northwards so that it would not be eroded by the River Chambal. There were two important Moghul wars of succession were fought near Dholpur. In 1658 AD when Shah Jahan fell sick, his son Aurangzeb defeated his brother Dara Shikoh, at Ran-ka-Chabutra, near Dholpur. In 1707 AD, Aurangzeb’s son Azam and Muazzam fought a battle for the succession to the throne at Baretha.


As of the 2011 census Dhaulpur municipality had a population of 126,142 and the urban agglomeration had a population of 133,229. The municipality had a sex ratio of 862 females per 1,000 males and 13.6% of the population were under six years old. Effective literacy was 76.56%; male literacy was 84.22% and female literacy was 67.74%.

Tourists places

Nihal tower: Rana Ram Singh of Dholpur was the Jat ruler of the princely state Dholpur (1901–1911) in Rajasthan, India. He was from Bamraulia gotra of Jats. He was born on 26 May 1883 and succeeded Rana Nihal Singh in 1901 after his death. Rana Nihal singh was not of age when ascended to the throne. He got full rights in March 1905. Nihal Singh constructed Nihal tower. His successor was Rana Udaybhanu Singh.

The Machkund Temple: Muchchhkund is about 4 km from the town of Dholpur. It is an ancient sacred place. It commands a picturesque view. The place is named after Raja Muchchhukand, the 24th of the Suryavanshi Dynasty (the solar race) who is said to have reigned nineteen generations before Lord Ram. According to legend, Raja Muchchhkund was sleeping here when demon Kaal Yaman (while pursuing lord Krishna) accidentally woke him up. The demon Kaal Yaman was burnt to ashes because of a divine blessing to Raja Muchchhkund. It is now a sacred place for pilgrims.

Chopra Shiv Temple: This temple was built in the 18th century. It is the oldest Shiv Temple in Dholpur. In the month of march on the occasion of Mahashiv Ratri this temple is full of pilgrims and devotees of lord Shiv. On Mondays much crowd come here to pay their offerings and prayers because Monday is considered as a day of lord Shiv according to the Hindu mythology. It is just 1/2 km from Dholpur new Bus stand so is at just a stone’s throw distance from bus stand and you can also hire a rickshaw to reach the temple. This ancient temple boasts of great architectural beauty.

Sant Nagar: Sant Nagar, a Buddha temple is 2 km from Bari.

Sher Shikar Gurudwara: a Sikh pilgrimage site in Machkund, Dholpur, associated with the history of sixth Sikh Guru Hargobind Sahib ji.

Shergarh Fort: It is an old fort of historic importance, located toward the south of Dholpur tower. This monument was built by Sher Shah Suri on the site of an earlier Hindu fortress.

Administrative Set Up

* Contains an image

* Assembly Constituency – 4

* Name – Dholpur, Bari, Rajakhera, Baseri, Saipau

* Sub Division – 5

* Name – Dholpur, Bari, Rajakhera, Baseri, Saipau

* Tehsil – 6

* Name – Dholpur, Bari, Rajakhera, Baseri, Saipau, Nagarparishad Dholpur, Sarmathura

* Sub Tehsil – 2 ( Mania, Kanchapur)

* Nagar Palika – Bari, Rajakhera

* Panchayat Samiti – Dholpur, Bari, Rajakhera, Baseri

* Ilr Circle – 25

* Patwar Mandal – 206

* Gram Panchayat – 153

* Populated Villages – 810

* Police Thana – 14

* Police Chowki – 14